the one where I talk about food

IMG_6879

*drool*

I love a bit (or a lot) of love for pimento cheese. Maybe it’s in my southern girl roots? I don’t know if that’s likely though, since I don’t care for a lot of southern dishes (no sweet tea?! *gasp*). I could eat pimento cheese every day though. Let’s be honest…I could eat any kind of cheese every day. It’s one of my food weaknesses. But pimento cheese is all smooth and creamy and mmm. I’ve never made it home made (though I have always wanted to) but we’ve always bought the same brand for as far back as I can remember. We keep a tub of regular pimento cheese and jalapeno pimento cheese in the fridge at all times.

For dinner Monday night we had home made beef stew and grilled cheese sandwiches. I pretty much adore a grilled cheese. Case in point, my boy made me one for dinner just on Saturday night. His version was just cheese slices, my version was jalapeno pimento cheese. It was ooey and gooey and messy. It was also one of the best things I’ve ever put in my mouth!

lunch!

asparagus!

I always pack my lunch for work. Sometimes it’s a sandwich. Other times it’s leftovers from dinner. I very rarely (maybe once every couple of months) go out for lunch. I don’t see the point in trying to rush out to pick something up when I could just relax in my office. I’m also cheap.

Yesterday I brought leftover chicken and pineapple pizza, but when a co-worker swung by to ask if I’d like a grilled chicken salad, I said “yes please, and make it a double” (ok, I didn’t REALLY).

IMG_6883

nom nom nom

It was the most yummy and filling salad! Grilled chicken, tomato quarters, shredded cheese, cucumbers, grilled asparagus, mushrooms, black olives (which I removed because yuck) on a bed of mixed greens. The dressing though! Jalapeno ranch, home made in house. Are y’all seeing a jalapeno theme?

I’m glad I had the protein in that salad because I needed the energy boost to make it through my work day. I was slammed and ended up working until after 5 o’clock, trying to catch up on things I’ve missed. I was so tired when I got home I can’t even recall what I had for dinner. Though I know there was something.

Untitled

it’s ruff being this cute

This chick and I hung out and watched tv after I showered and put on pj’s. She had a hair cut over the weekend and with our temps dropping again had to put on her sweater yesterday. We can’t wait for Spring. Yay for the last day of Winter!

 

14 thoughts on “the one where I talk about food

  1. Hi there! Quick question that’s completely off topic. Do you know how to make your site mobile friendly?
    My site looks weird when browsing from my apple iphone.

    I’m trying to find a theme or plugin that might be able to correct this problem.

    If you have any recommendations, please share. Thanks!

  2. My office is having a grilled cheese cook off tomorrow and I ALMOST did pimento cheese. I switched it up at the last second though… Pretzel roll with peppered Toscana cheese (didn’t even know what it was until Trader Joe’s was sampling it…) and double cream gouda AND garlic herb butter. I’m taking it very seriously. Yours looks awesome.

Leave a Reply

