M&M Cookies

As far back as I can remember we have had a baking tradition with my mother. Most notably, M&M cookies. With my grandfathers passing on October 29th my mom hasn’t been so much in the holiday spirit so we are slow at getting started this year.  Even if we don’t bake more than these this year, they are a necessity for us.

Untitled

I spent the day with her yesterday, baking two batches of cookies and watching White Christmas (another tradition for us). We are currently swimming in M&M cookies but I’m hoping to gift them to a couple of coworkers and friends. I’d say, depending on how big you drop your dough, it makes about 3-4 dozen, though the recipe says it yields 72 (2 1/2″) cookies. I use a Pampered Chef cookie scoop thing, the medium, if I’m remembering correctly.

mmm cookie!

I’m really not sure where this recipe came from. It’s the only one we’ve ever used. The magazine clipping is falling apart it’s been folded so many times. It’s incredibly simple though so I wanted to share it here.

Untitled

1 Cup Brown sugar, firmly packed

1 Cup Crisco shortening

1/2 Cup granulated sugar

2 tsp vanilla

2 eggs

1 tsp salt

2  1/4 cups all purpose flour

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 cups of m&ms (but we use more)

Preheat oven to 350. Blend shortening with sugars in large bowl. Beat in vanilla with eggs and pour into sugar mixture. Sift together dry ingredients (I won’t lie, we don’t usually sift), slowly add to wet ingredients, blend well. Stir in M&Ms. Drop by teaspoon (ha yeah right) on ungreased cookie sheet. Decorate top of cookies with extra M&Ms. Bake 8 to 10 minutes or until golden brown.

Leave a Reply

