{Makeup} Smoked Blue look

Twice in one week?! What’s the world coming to?? *grin* It’s Friday! And Friday usually means I try to do something fun, especially if the rest of the week I haven’t worn much makeup. Today I did a bit of a smoked out blue using my Urban Decay Smoked palette again. .

I decided to add in some swatches for my post. I know the palette is pricey so this will give y’all an idea of what the colors look like, in case you want to find dupes in your own collection or in a drug store brand. The only thing I didn’t include was the eye liner. It’s black and I think any basic black liner will do the trick.

I started out with Urban Decay primer potion. If you haven’t tried this stuff, you definitely should. It’s a great base. Helps your shadow go on smooth, blend well and stay put for hours. My looks usually last all day and still look great when I wash my face at night. Sometimes I lament that I have to take it off, it still looks so vivid and fresh.

After I let that set for a second I used my Mac 239 brush to apply “Evidence” from the Urban Decay Smoked palette to my lid up into the crease. It’s a dark color so a little will do you for now. I actually went back over it once I did my crease color, to blend the two out, since I wanted my lid darker.

For my crease I used my Sigma E45 to apply Mary Kay eye shadow in “Peacock Blue“. I’ve used that color on a look I’ve posted before. It’s absolutely gorgeous, as you can see by my swatch photo. It has a bit of a metallic look to it so I’d bet anything it looks almost foil like if you used it with mixing medium or water. Note to self: Try this theory and see what happens.

In the outer corner of my crease I used “Blackout”, again from the Urban Decay Smoked palette but any black shadow would do. If you want a single black (every body needs a black shadow, honestly) I’d recommend Mac’s “Carbon” as well. I’ve used it countless times. Blackout blended beautifully and I’m glad I added it on a whim. I hadn’t planned to use black this go around but I wanted my outer corner to be a bit darker. I applied that with my Mac 217.

Using my Sigma E45 again, not adding more shadow to the brush, I blended it up to where I knew I’d stop with my highlight shadow color. Then for my highlight, I went with my trusty Mac eye shadow in “Shroom“.

After that I did bottom liner, Urban Decay 24/7 Glide-on liner in “Zero” then used a concealer brush to pat on Eve Pearl Salmon in Light/Medium to get rid of any dark smudges or fall out. To set that, I took a fluffy shadow brush and dusted a little Mac Prep + Prime Transparent Finishing Powder under my eye, then did my entire face with a Sigma F20 Large Powder brush.

Last was mascara, which I just grabbed from my cup I toss them in. I don’t know if I’ve ever mentioned it but I love mascaras. I don’t know why but I own a zillion.

Tada! All done!


Here’s a rundown of everything I used:
Face:
Blush: N/A because I FORGOT to put it on grrr I’d have gone with a bronzy color though, nothing pink or bright

Base:
Urban Decay Primer Potion (Original) – eyes

Lid: 
Urban Decay in “Evidence” from Smoked palette

Crease:
Mary Kay eye shadow in “Peacock Blue” and Urban Decay in “Blackout” from Smoked palette


Highlight under brow:
Mac Cosmetics eye shadow in “Shroom

Liner:
Urban Decay 24/7 Glide-on liner in “Zero” on bottom lash/water line

Brows:
Sigma Beauty Brow Kit

Lashes: 
(top and bottom) Mary Kay Lash Love in “I heart Black”

Lips:
N/A

Brushes: 
Eye Lid: Mac 239 brush
Crease: Sigma E45 Small Tapered Blending Brush and Mac 217 for outer corner
Under brow bone: Sigma E50 Lg Fluff brush
Liner on top lashes: N/A
Foundation: Sigma F80 Flat top synthetic kabuki
Concealer: Sigma F70 Concealer brush
Face Powder: Sigma F20 Large Powder
Blush: N/A


Leave a Reply

